About HKUMed

Life at HKUMed


Life at HKUMed


Medical education has been at the heart of The University of Hong Kong's history since our inception and the Li Ka Shing Faculty of Medicine has been a leader in medical education and research throughout our 130+ years of history. We are proud to continue our tradition of pioneering achievement from our campus on Sassoon Road. We have trained thousands of healthcare practitioners and scientists, as well as many internationally renowned researchers and policy-makers. Today we look forward to nurturing the next generation of healthcare professionals and leaders.
Our campus on Sassoon Road is home to a vibrant and talented student body. Here, students are provided with a myriad of opportunities to develop their medical knowledge and skills, as well as their wider extracurricular interests.

At HKUMed there are many support systems in place - financial, facilities, advice and networks - to help students join various local and overseas learning programmes, including clinical attachments, exchanges, service trips and study tours, in addition to Enrichment Year. We strongly believe that this well-rounded experience is essential to both the personal and professional development of our students.

Accommodation

You may apply to stay in one of the residential halls or colleges, which are situated on the main campus, Pokfulam Road, Lung Wah Street and Sassoon Road. These residences vary in style and character. Most of the study-bedrooms are shared by two students but there are also single rooms.

Two residences are under the Faculty’s management: the Madam S H Ho Residence for Medical Students (RMS), which accommodates 163 students in single rooms, and the Patrick Manson Student Residence (PMR), which accommodates 124 students in shared bedrooms. Senior medical students undergoing clinical training at Queen Mary Hospital are required to stay at RMS or PMR during specific specialty clerkships. These residences allow more medical and nursing students to be close to QMH for their clinical training.

For more on student residences

Student Ambassador Programme

Our Student Ambassador programme aims to provide an opportunity for students to represent HKUMed at various events and platforms, meanwhile connecting them with other highly motivated individuals across different undergraduate programmes to network and collaborate with one another. 

The programme features various ambassador streams, each distinguished by its different areas of interests and expertise: some ambassadors may want to focus on connecting with prospective students, fostering a close mentor-mentee relationship with those who intend to pursue a career in the medical profession; while others may want to cultivate their creative prowess, curating social content for online platforms and virtually keeping in touch with all members of the HKUMed community.

Through the programme, we hope for our ambassadors to build a network of valued peers and colleagues, and above all strengthen interpersonal skills that may positively impact academic and extracurricular pursuits.

Town Hall Fora

Students enjoy relaxing afternoons with the Dean and the decanal team to exchange ideas on teaching and learning, student welfare, curriculum structure, and the wider development of the Faculty.

認識港大醫學院
校園生活


校園生活


自香港大學成立以來,醫學教育一直是港大發展史的核心。130多年來,港大醫學院在醫學教育和科研範疇中領袖群倫。在沙宣道醫學院校園,我們以延續前人先驅角色為榮,多年來培訓數以千計的醫護人員、科學家、國際知名的研究學者和決策者。時至今日,我們繼續致力培育下一代的專業醫護人員和領袖。在沙宣道校園這個大本營裏,學生可盡展活力與才能,把握機會增長醫學知識和技能,並發展多元課外興趣。

我們深信全方位的校園生活,對學生個人成長和專業發展不可或缺。港大醫學院有多個支援系統,包括財政、設施、輔導和人際網絡,推動學生參與本地及海外不同類型的學習活動,除增潤學年外,還包括臨床實習、海外交流、義工服務和遊學團。此外,醫學院亦設有多項獎學金頒發予表現卓越的同學。

學生在沙宣道校園的芬培花園散步。
住宿

你可以選擇入住位於本部校園、薄扶林道、龍華街或沙宣道的學生宿舍或書院。每個宿舍風格各異,大部分房間屬雙人房,亦有部分設有單人房間。

屬於醫學院管理的兩間宿舍包括:設有163間單人房的何善衡夫人堂(RMS),以及設有124間雙人房的白文信學生宿舍(PMR)。在瑪麗醫院接受臨床訓練的高年級醫科生,在指定專科實習期間須入住RMS或PMR。兩間宿舍鄰近瑪麗醫院,方便更多醫科和護理學生往來接受臨床培訓。

了解有關學生宿舍

學生大使計劃

學生大使計劃讓學生有機會在各種場合和平台代表港大醫學院,同時與各本科課程的同學聯繫和協作。

計劃設有不同類型的大使,學生可以根據自己的興趣發揮專長:有些同學與有意報讀的中學生聯繫,建立緊密的良師益友關係;有些則在社交媒體發揮創意,透過網上平台與港大醫學院社群保持聯絡。

我們希望透過此計劃,為學生大使建立珍貴的交流網絡,提升人際技巧,裨益其學業和課外成就。

與院長對話
學生可與院長及團隊共享悠閒下午時光,互相分享對教學、學生福利、課程架構,以至醫學院未來發展的看法。