About HKUMed

The Campus


Our campus on Sassoon Road is home to a vibrant and talented student body. Here, students are provided with a myriad of opportunities to develop their medical knowledge and skills, as well as their wider extracurricular interests.

Medical education has been at the heart of The University of Hong Kong's history since our inception and HKUMed has been a leader in medical education and research throughout our 130+ years of history. We are proud to continue our tradition of pioneering achievement from our campus on Sassoon Road. We have trained thousands of healthcare practitioners and scientists, as well as many internationally renowned researchers and policy-makers. Today we look forward to nurturing the next generation of healthcare professionals and leaders.

We strongly believe that this well-rounded experience is essential to both the personal and professional development of our students. At HKUMed there are many support systems in place - financial, facilities, advice and networks - to help students join various local and overseas learning programmes, including clinical attachments, exchanges, service trips and study tours, in addition to Enrichment Year. Many scholarships are available at HKUMed.

The Medical Campus

The Medical Campus on Sassoon Road accommodates teaching departments/schools and their research laboratories, as well as various state-of-the-art facilities. The new Faculty Learning Commons provides a shared space where students and teachers can meet up and participate in various kinds of teaching and learning activities, while the newly refurbished Cheung Chin Lan Hong Atrium is the built expression of HKUMed’s core mission to enrich the total learning experience for students to socialise and connect with one another outside of class.

A comprehensive plan for development has been put forward to answer the demand for space at the Medical Campus. The Sassoon Road will be transformed into a big contiguous state-of-the-science medical campus stretching all the way from Queen Mary Hospital on Pokfulam Road at the top, to the Victoria Road roundabout at the bottom. A reinvigorated built environment will continue to provide exceptional support and opportunities for students, as well as taking our research with the advent of new technologies to the next level.

Teaching Hospitals

Our teaching hospital Queen Mary Hospital (QMH) is not only the main regional hospital for Hong Kong Island but is also a tertiary referral centre for the whole territory. Most of the Faculty’s clinical departments are located at QMH. A lot of learning also takes place here, supported by the many lecture theatres, seminar rooms and other teaching facilities at QMH.

HKUMed students are also taught in other Hospital Authority hospitals. You may also have opportunities to learn at three private hospitals, The Hong Kong Sanatorium and Hospital, Gleneagles Hong Kong Hospital, and the University of Hong Kong–Shenzhen Hospital which are all key partners of the Faculty in teaching, training and research, under the HKU Health System.

Yu Chun Keung Medical Library

The Yu Chun Keung Medical Library is a centre of excellence in knowledge management. It provides the physical environment and the virtual resources for holistic learning, as well as services and resources which support the curriculum, research, continuing education for our students. The Medical Library is an integral part of the University Libraries comprising significant digital resources, multimedia as well as extensive print collections on biomedical and health sciences. The Collection traces its origin back to the founding, in 1887, of the Hong Kong College of Medicine for Chinese, forerunner of the University of Hong Kong Faculty of Medicine. The Library became a World Health Organization Depository Library in 1993.

Learning Commons

The learning environment at HKUMed has been greatly enhanced by the newly-renovated common area, known as the Learning Commons, where you can not only study but meet up with fellow students for a variety of academic and learning exchanges. The Learning Commons enjoys a full view of the ocean and its features include a mini amphitheater, an innovative lecture theatre, areas to relax from your studies, and group study areas.

認識港大醫學院
校園簡介


醫學教育一直是香港大學發展史的核心。在沙宣道校園,我們以延續前人先驅角色為榮,多年來培訓數以千計的醫護人員、科學家、國際知名的研究學者和決策者。醫學院校園坐落在沙宣道,設有多個學院及學系、研究實驗室和先進設備。

全新設立的醫學院研習坊全新的研習坊,為師生提供聚腳點,進行各式各樣的教學活動。經過翻新的地下大堂「蘭庭」亦反映港大醫學院核心目標,讓學生在課堂以外與同儕交流聯繫,豐富學習經驗。

醫學院已制定全面發展計劃,以回應對校園空間日益增加的需求。從薄扶林道瑪麗醫院,延伸至域多利道迴旋處,沙宣道將改造成大型而先進的醫學校園。充滿活力的建築環境將繼續為學生提供與別不同的支援和機會,並以先進科技,引領我們的研究更上一層樓。

醫學院校園坐落在沙宣道,設有多個學院及學系、研究實驗室和先進設備。全新設立的醫學院研習坊全新的研習坊,為師生提供聚腳點,進行各式各樣的教學活動。經過翻新的地下大堂「蘭庭」亦反映港大醫學院核心目標,讓學生在課堂以外與同儕交流聯繫,豐富學習經驗。

醫學院已制定全面發展計劃,以回應對校園空間日益增加的需求。從薄扶林道瑪麗醫院,延伸至域多利道迴旋處,沙宣道將改造成大型而先進的醫學校園,。充滿活力的建築環境將繼續為學生提供與別不同的支援和機會,並以先進科技,引領我們的研究更上一層樓。

瑪麗醫院不只是港島的主要地區醫院,亦是第三級轉介中心。醫學院大部分臨床學系設於瑪麗醫院,院內設有演講廳、研討室和其他教學設施,供大量教學活動進行。

港大醫學院學生亦會在醫院管理局轄下的其他醫院上課。你亦有機會在三間私營醫院學習,養和醫院、港怡醫院和香港大學深圳醫院,均屬於香港大學醫療系統,是醫學院教學、培訓和研究的重要伙伴。

余振強醫學圖書館是一所完善的知識管理中心,為全面醫學教育提供學習環境和資源,也為師生在課程、研究和持續教育上提供支援和資源。它是大學圖書館不可或缺的一部分,提供大量的數碼和多媒體資源,以及廣泛有關生物醫學和衞生科學的刊物。 館藏起源可追溯至1887年華人西醫書院(港大醫學院前身)創辦之時。 余振強醫學圖書館於1993年成為世界衞生組織的托存圖書館。

全新裝修的研習坊大大改善了港大醫學院的學習環境,你不單可以在此自修,還能與同學一起交流學習心得。研習坊飽覽遼闊海景,還設有迷你圓形劇場、創新的演講廳、歇息空間以及小組學習區。