205 Congregation

National • The following Faculty members were awarded the National Natural Science Foundation of China (NSFC) Excellent Young Scientists Fund (Hong Kong and Macau): September 2020 – Dr Esther Chan Wai-yin (Pharmacology and Pharmacy) – Dr Lydia Cheung Wai-ting (Biomedical Sciences) – Dr Carmen Wong Chak-lui (Pathology) – Dr Alan Wong Siu-lun (Biomedical Sciences) September 2021 – Dr Chu Hin (Microbiology) • Professor Kenneth Cheung Man-chee (Orthopaedics and Traumatology) has introduced a medical device for correcting severe spinal deformities in children in the Greater Bay Area under the 港澳藥械通 scheme in May 2021. • Professor Anne Lee Wing-mui (Clinical Oncology) was bestowed the First Prize of Technology Award by the China Anti-Cancer Association in 2021. • Professor Lo Chung-mau (Surgery) was selected in 2020 by the Health Times of People’s Daily for the 4th Doctors of Distinction in China Award. • Professor Malik Peiris (Public Health) and Professor Yuen Kwokyung (Microbiology) were awarded the Future Science Prize in life sciences in September 2021. • Professor Walter Seto Wai-kay (Medicine) was appointed as Chief Physician, Guangdong Province, by the Shenzhen Human Resources and Social Security Bureau in May 2021. • Dr William Wong Chi-Wai (Family Medicine and Primary Care) was conferred the title of Chief Senior Consultant by the China Medical Board in 2021. Local Extramural • Professor Keiji Fukuda, Professor Gabriel Leung (Public Health), and Professor Yuen Kwok-yung (Microbiology) were appointed to the Hong Kong SAR government’s expert advisory group on COVID-19 by the Chief Executive of HKSAR. • Professor Wallace Lau Chak-sing (Medicine) was appointed Convenor of the Advisory Panel on COVID-19 Vaccines by the Chief Executive of HKSAR, and the following Faculty members were appointed as members of the panel: – Professor Keiji Fukuda (Public Health) – Professor Lau Yu-lung (Paediatrics and Adolescent Medicine) – Professor Ivan Hung Fan-ngai (Medicine) – Professor Gabriel Leung (Public Health) – Professor Ian Wong Chi-kei (Pharmacology and Pharmacy) – Professor Yuen Kwok-yung (Microbiology) • The following Faculty members received awards from the Croucher Foundation: – Professor Huang Jiandong (Biomedical Sciences) was awarded the Croucher Senior Research Fellowship 2021 in December 2020. – Professor Richard Yuen Man-fung (Medicine) was awarded the Croucher Senior Medical Research Fellowship 2021 in December 2020. – Dr Loey Mak Lung-yi (Medicine) was awarded the Croucher Foundation Fellowship in March 2021. • The following Faculty members were presented the Hong Kong Ten Outstanding Young Persons (TOYP) Awards by the Junior Chamber International Hong Kong in October 2020 and 2021: – Dr Winnie Tso Wan-yee (Paediatrics and Adolescent Medicine) – TOYP 2020 – Dr Lam Ka-on (Clinical Oncology) – TOYP 2021 • The following Faculty members received awards at the 40th Annual Congress of the Hong Kong Orthopaedic Association (HKOA) in November 2020: – Dr Prudence Cheung Wing-hang (Orthopaedics and Traumatology) – Best Poster Award – Dr Janus Wong Siu-him (Orthopaedics and Traumatology) – Best Paper Award for Trainee Member and Prof SP Chow Award for Best Paper in Trauma • Dr Esther Chan Wai-yin (Pharmacology and Pharmacy) was elected as member of the Hong Kong Young Academy of Sciences in September 2021. • Dr Michael Cheung Ka-shing (Medicine) was presented the Distinguished Research Paper Award for Young Investigator by Hong Kong College of Physicians in 2021. • Professor Benjamin John Cowling (Public Health) was conferred Research Grants Council (RGC)’s Inaugural Senior Research Fellow in November 2020. 16