205 Congregation

Professional Recognition and Honours/Awards (Individuals) International • Professor Roberto Bruzzone (Public Health) was awarded Officer in the French National Order of Merit (Officier dans l’Ordre National du Mérite) in June 2021. • Dr Linda Chan (Family Medicine and Primary Care) was conferred Fellow of the American Academy of Family Physicians in 2020. • Professor Kathryn Cheah Song-eng (Biomedical Sciences) received the British Society for Matrix Biology (BSMB) Medal Lecture Award in 2021. • Professor Kenneth Cheung Man-chee (Orthopaedics and Traumatology) was presented the Walter P Blount Humanitarian Award in September 2021. • Dr Jason Cheung Pui-yin (Orthopaedics and Traumatology) received the 21st Asia Pacific Orthopaedic Association Spine Section Award in July 2021. • Dr Michael Cheung Ka-shing (Medicine) was conferred the National Scholar Award in the UEG Week Virtual by the United European Gastroenterology in July 2021. • Professor Benjamin John Cowling (Public Health) was awarded Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE) in the 2021 Queen’s Birthday Honours List. • Professor Guan Yi and Professor Malik Peiris (Public Health) were bestowed the 2021 John Dirks Canada Gairdner Global Health Award. • Dr Jojo Kwok Yan-yan (Nursing) received the Outstanding New Investigator Award at the International Congress of Behavioral Medicine in June 2021. • Dr Jenny Lam Ka-wing (Pharmacology and Pharmacy) was presented the DDL (Drug Delivery to the Lungs) Emerging Scientist Award by The Aerosol Society in December 2020. • Professor Karen Lam Siu-ling (Medicine) was appointed to the Board of Directors of the Endocrine Society for a three-year term starting from 2022. • Professor Lam Wai-ching (Ophthalmology) was conferred Fellow of the American Society of Retina Specialists (FASRS) by the American Society of Retina Specialists in July 2021. • Dr Wendy Lam Wing-tak (Public Health) was appointed as Vice-President of International Psycho-Oncology Society (2021-2023) in June 2021. • Professor Simon Law Ying-kit (Surgery) was elected as President-Elect of the International Society of Diseases of the Esophagus (2021-2022). • Professor Gabriel Leung (Public Health) was appointed to the Wellcome Trust Board of Governors in May 2021. • Dr Loey Mak Lung-yi (Medicine) received the Young Investigator’s Award at the 30th Annual Conference of the Asian Pacific Association for the Study of the Liver (APASL) in February 2021. • Professor Nancy Man Kwan (Surgery) was presented the Rising Star Award (Mentor) at the Virtual International Liver Transplantation Society Annual Congress in May 2021. • Professor Lo Chung-mau (Surgery) was conferred Honorary Fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland in February 2021. • Dr Ng Lui (Surgery) received the Young Investigator Award at the 13th Annual Meeting of the Korean Society of Medical Oncology and 2020 International Conference (Virtual) in September 2020; the Virtual Foreign Contributor Award at the Japanese Society of Medical Oncology Annual Meeting (Virtual) in February 2021; and the Young Investigator Award at the 4th International Meeting on Intestinal Diseases in conjunction with the Annual Congress of the Korean Association for the Study of Intestinal Diseases (Virtual) in April 2021. • Dr Ng Ming-yen (Diagnostic Radiology) was selected for the Future Leaders Programme by the Society of Cardiovascular Computed Tomography in March 2021. • Professor Hextan Ngan Yuen-sheung (Obstetrics and Gynaecology) was presented the IGCS Excellence in Teaching Award by the International Gynecologic Cancer Society in September 2021. • Professor Walter Seto Wai-kay (Medicine) was admitted as Fellow of the American Gastroenterological Association in February 2021. • Dr Kendrick Co Shih (Ophthalmology) was conferred the Academic Development Mentorship Scheme Award by the Academy of Asia-Pacific Professors of Ophthalmology (AAPPO) in December 2020; and the Asia-Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology Best Young Ophthalmologist Influencer Award at the 36th Asia-Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology Congress in September 2021. • Professor Paul Tam Kwong-hang (Surgery) was awarded the Rehbein Medal (2020) at the 22nd Greece European Paediatric Surgeons’ Association Congress in Athens, Greece, in September 2021. • Dr Wang Weiping (Pharmacology and Pharmacy) was conferred the Thieme Chemistry Journals Award in January 2021. • Mr Henry Yau (Clinical Trials Centre) was appointed Chairperson of the International Clinical Trials Center Network in September 2020. • Dr Yiu Kai-hang (Medicine) received the 23rd Annual Quality Improvement Award (Global Quality Improvement Category) from the Australian Council on Healthcare Standard in December 2020. 15 The 205th Congregation