205 Congregation

2020-21 Honour Roll Professional Recognition and Honours/Awards (Teams) International • The following research teams were awarded Medals at the 2021 Inventions Geneva Evaluation Days in March 2021: – The team led by Professor Chen Honglin, Dr Wang Pui, Professor Chen Zhiwei and Professor Yuen Kwok-yung (Microbiology) was awarded the Gold Medal with Congratulations of the Jury for the project ‘Flu-based COVID-19 vaccine’. – The team led by Professor Zhang Tong, Dr Deng Yu, Miss Zheng Xiawan, Miss Xu Xiaoqing (Civil Engineering), Professor Leo Poon Lit-man, Dr Hein M Tun, Professor Gabriel Leung and Professor Malik Peiris (Public Health) was awarded the Gold Medal for their invention ‘Innovative sewage testing tool for SARS-CoV-2’. – The team comprising Professor Frankie Leung Ka-li, Dr Qi Weichen and Dr Feng Xiaoreng (Orthopaedics and Traumatology) was awarded the Silver Medal for ‘Universal fracture healing accelerator for external fixators’. • The team jointly led by Dr Hu Yong (Orthopaedics and Traumatology) and Dr Wan Feng (Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Macau) received a total of eight awards in the 2020 World Robot Conference Contests (WRCC) – BCI Brain-Controlled Robot Contest, including one General Award, two First Prizes at the Final Technical Contest, four Champion Prizes at the Championship Contest, and one Significant Contribution Award. • The team comprising Dr Jasper Chan Fuk-woo, Dr Kok Kinhang, Dr Zhu Zheng, Dr Chu Hin, Dr Kelvin To Kai-wang, Dr Yuan Shuofeng and Professor Yuen Kwok-yung (Microbiology) was conferred the 2020 Best Papers Award (First Place) from the Emerging Microbes and Infections journal in February 2021 for the paper ‘Genomic characterization of the 2019 novel humanpathogenic coronavirus isolated from a patient with atypical pneumonia after visiting Wuhan’. National • Dr Gao Bo (Biomedical Sciences), in collaboration with the Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences, Peking Union Medical College and Fudan University, was awarded the Youth Award of the 2020 China Medical Science and Technology Awards by the Chinese Medical Association for the project ‘Genetic and mechanistic studies of congenital skeletal disorders’ in March 2021. • Professor Paul Tam Kwong-hang and Dr Clara Tang Szeman (Surgery), in collaboration with Wuhan Union Hospital of Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Capital Institute of Pediatrics, and the Second Hospital of Hebei Medical University, were conferred the Second Class Award of the 2020 China Medical Science and Technology Awards for the project ‘Disease mechanisms and minimal invasive surgery applications for Hirschsprung’s disease’ by the Chinese Medical Association in March 2021. • Professor Xu Aimin (Medicine) and Dr Hui Xiaoyan (Biomedical Sciences, CUHK) were presented the State Science and Technology Progress Award (Second Class Award) for the project ‘Innovation and application of key technology for diabetes immunodiagnosis and treatment’ by the Ministry of Science and Technology of the People’s Republic of China in 2020. Local Extramural • Professor Kenneth Wong Kak-yuen (Surgery) and his team received the HKWC and QMH/TYH Outstanding Team Award (Paediatric Thoracoscopic Team) from the Hong Kong West Cluster, Hospital Authority in March 2021. Intramural • Professor Keiji Fukuda (Public Health) and his team comprising Ms Bernadette Tsui Wing-suen (Development and Alumni Affairs Office), Professor Chan Yuen-ying (Technology-Enriched Learning Initiative) and Mr Laurence Tang Yat-long (Development and Alumni Affairs Office) received the Faculty Knowledge Exchange Award in September 2020 for the project ‘Combating COVID-19 through knowledge exchange’. • Dr John Fung Tai-chun and his team comprising Dr Veronica Lam Suk-fun, Ms Michelle Pang Tsz-ha and Dr Janet Wong Yuen-ha (Nursing) were presented the HKU 2020 Teaching Innovation Award for the project ‘Evaluation on students’ clinical competence after a virtual simulation education programme during COVID-19 pandemic’ in March 2021. 14