205 Congregation

Speech by the Guest of Honour Ms Anita Fung Yuen-mei, BBS, JP Dear Professor Leung, Professor Lieh-Mak, distinguished guests, faculty members, graduands, families and friends, Good afternoon. I am deeply honoured to be your Guest today. Congregation 2021 - My sincerest congratulations! And to the Faculty, your friends and families who have given you all the love and support, the years of hard work have got you through to where you are today - Well done! I recalled at junior schools, we were asked by teachers to write about ‘My Aspiration’ (我的志願). At my times, many classmates aspired to be scientists, doctors, firemen... I recalled one aspired to be a magician so as to make people laugh and be happy. I trust at a young age, we might not have a good idea as to what the aspired identity was, but just wanted to be a good person (做個好人), Ms Anita Fung Yuen-mei has over 30 years of experience in the banking sector. She is the first female Chief Executive Officer of the Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited in Hong Kong. She was appointed as Group General Manager of HSBC Holdings plc in 2008-2015. She was also the Chairman of the Hong Kong Association of Banks. Ms Fung was an independent non-executive director of Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited 2015-2021. She was on the Board of Hang Seng Bank and China Construction Bank. She is currently an independent non-executive director of Hang Lung Properties Limited. Ms Fung plays an active role in public service. She was a board member of Airport Authority Hong Kong, a non-official member of Hong Kong Housing Authority, a member of the Financial Infrastructure Sub-Committee of the Exchange Fund Advisory Committee of Hong Kong Monetary Authority. She was a council member of the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology and a board member of the West Kowloon Cultural District Authority. She is currently a member of the Judicial Officers Recommendation Commission, a director of the Hong Kong Mortgage Corporation Limited, a trustee of Asia Society Hong Kong, a member of Museum Advisory Committee and Chairman of History Museums Committee. She is an Honorary Professor of the School of Economics and Finance of The University of Hong Kong. 20