HKUMed News (Vol 26 | Issue 2)

Achievements 獎項與成就 In September 2021, distinguished scholars Professor Malik Peiris, Tam Wah-Ching Professor in Medical Science, Chair of Virology, School of Public Health; and Professor Yuen Kwok-yung, Henry Fok Professor in Infectious Diseases, Chair of Infectious Diseases, Department of Microbiology were awarded The Life Science Prize of 2021 Future Science Prize for their discoveries of SARS-CoV-1 as the causative agent for the global SARS outbreak in 2003 and its zoonotic origin, with impact on combating COVID-19 and emerging infectious diseases. 公共衞生學院譚華正基金教授(醫療科學)及病毒學講座教授裴偉士教授及微生物學系傳染病學講座教授、霍英東基金教授(傳染病學) 袁國勇教授榮獲2021年「未來科學大獎」⸺「生命科學獎」,以表彰二人發現冠狀病毒為導致2003年全球重症急性呼吸綜合症(SARS) 病原,以及由動物到人的傳染鏈,為人類應對MERS和COVID-19冠狀病毒引起的傳染病產生了重大影響。 Dr Maria Zhu Huachen, Associate Professor at the School of Public Health, was honoured the 16th Chinese Young Women in Science Fellowship in recognition of her contributions to scientific research and innovation. Dr Zhu is also the only award-winner from Hong Kong this year. 公共衞生學院副教授朱華晨博士榮獲第 16屆中國青年女科學家獎,以表彰其在 科學領域的卓越成就,朱博士亦是今屆 香港唯一獲得此榮譽的得獎者。 Dr Chu Hin, Assistant Professor of the Department of Microbiology, was awarded the 2021 Excellent Young Scientists Fund (Hong Kong and Macau) by the National Natural Science Foundation of China. His award-winning project aims to further dissect the interaction of SARS-CoV-2 with transmembrane protease and cell surface host factors. Knowledge obtained from the proposed study will contribute to the understanding of the current COVID-19 pandemic and provide novel insights as well as therapeutic targets against the transmission and replication of SARS-CoV-2. 微生物學系助理教授朱軒博士榮獲中國國家自然科學基金選爲2021年度優秀青年科學家 基金項目(港澳),以表彰其剖析 SARS-CoV-2 與跨膜蛋白酶和細胞表面宿主因子相互作 用的研究,對了解高致病性冠狀病毒等方面所作之貢獻。 Professor Malik Peiris (Public Health) and Professor Yuen Kwok-yung (Microbiology) Awarded The 2021 Future Science Prize: Life Science Prize 公共衞生學院裴偉士教授及微生物學系袁國勇教授榮獲2021年度「未來科學大獎」⸺ 「生命科學獎」 Dr Maria Zhu Huachen (Public Health) Awarded the Chinese Young Women in Science Fellowship 公共衞生學院朱華晨博士 榮獲中國青年女科學家獎 Dr Chu Hin (Microbiology) Awarded the Excellent Young Scientists Fund 2021 (Hong Kong and Macau) from the National Natural Science Foundation of China 微生物學系朱軒博士榮獲 2021年度 優秀青年科學基金(港澳) Faculty Achievements 學院教職員所獲獎項與成就 MAJOR AWARDS 40 主要獎項