State of the Faculty Address 2021

25 National ● The following Faculty members were awarded the National Natural Science Foundation of China (NSFC) Excellent Young Scientists Fund (Hong Kong and Macau) : September 2020 — Dr Esther Chan Wai-yin (Pharmacology and Pharmacy ) — Dr Lydia Cheung Wai-ting (Biomedical Sciences ) — Dr Carmen Wong Chak-lui (Pathology ) — Dr Alan Wong Siu-lun (Biomedical Sciences ) September 2021 — Dr Chu Hin (Microbiology ) ● Professor Kenneth Cheung Man-chee (Orthopaedics and Traumatology) has introduced a medical device for correcting severe spinal deformities in children in the Greater Bay Area under the 港澳藥械通 scheme in May 2021. ● Professor Anne Lee Wing-mui (Clinical Oncology ) was bestowed the First Prize of Technology Award by the China Anti-Cancer Association in 2021. ● Professor Lo Chung-mau (Surgery ) was selected in 2020 by the Health Times of People’s Daily for the 4th Doctors of Distinction in China Award. ● Professor Malik Peiris (Public Health) and Professor Yuen Kwok-yung (Microbiology ) were awarded the Future Science Prize in life sciences in September 2021. ● Professor Walter Seto Wai-kay (Medicine ) was appointed as Chief Physician, Guangdong Province, by the Shenzhen Human Resources and Social Security Bureau in May 2021. ● Dr William Wong Chi-wai (Family Medicine and Primary Care ) was conferred the title of Chief Senior Consultant by the China Medical Board in 2021.