The Dean's Letter by Professor Chak-sing Lau | November 2022

Local Extramural • The following colleagues received the following honours from the HKSAR Government in July 2022: – Professor Sophia Chan Siu-chee (Nursing) was awarded the Gold Bauhinia Star (GBS) and appointed Justice of the Peace (JP). – Professor Ivan Hung Fan-Ngai (Medicine, SClinMed), Professor Chak-sing Lau (Medicine, SClinMed) and Professor Lau Yu-lung (Paediatrics and Adolescent Medicine, SClinMed) were awarded the Bronze Bauhinia Star (BBS). • Professor Chak-sing Lau (Medicine, SClinMed) was re-appointed as Convenor of the Advisory Panel on COVID-19 Vaccines by the Chief Executive of HKSAR in 2022, and the following Faculty members were re-appointed as members of the panel: – Professor Ivan Hung Fan-ngai (Medicine, SClinMed) – Professor Lau Yu-lung (Paediatrics and Adolescent Medicine, SClinMed) – Professor Gabriel Matthew Leung (Public Health) – Professor Ian Wong Chi-kei (Pharmacology and Pharmacy) – Professor Yuen Kwok-yung (Microbiology, SClinMed) • The following Faculty members were presented the Distinguished Research Paper Award for Young Investigators by the Hong Kong College of Physicians in 2022: – Dr Rex Hui Wai-hin (Medicine, SClinMed) – Paper: Magnetic Resonance Elastography and Proton Density Fat Fraction Predict Adverse Outcomes in Hepatocellular Carcinoma – Dr Paul Lee Chi-ho (Medicine, SClinMed) – Paper: Circulating Thrombospondin-2 as a Novel Fibrosis Biomarker of Nonalcoholic Fatty Liver Disease in Type 2 Diabetes – Dr David Lui Tak-wai (Medicine, SClinMed) – Paper: Kidney Outcomes Associated with Sodium-glucose Cotransporter 2 Inhibitors Versus Glucagon-like Peptide 1 Receptor Agonists: A Realworld Population-based Analysis • Professor Sophia Chan Siu-chee (Nursing) was inducted as Honorary Fellow by the Hong Kong College of Health Service Executives in 2022. • Dr Will Chan Yap-hang and Dr Michael Cheung Ka-shing (Medicine, SClinMed) were awarded the Young Investigator Research Grant by the Hong Kong College of Physicians in 2022. • Professor Chu Kent-man (Surgery, SClinMed) was elected President of The College of Surgeons of Hong Kong in September 2022. 22