The Dean's Letter by Professor Chak-sing Lau | November 2022

International • Dr Jasper Chan Fuk-woo (Microbiology, SClinMed) was elected as Fellow of Infectious Diseases Society of America (FIDSA) in August 2022. • Dr Michael Cheung Ka-shing (Medicine, SClinMed) was presented the Travel Grant Award for his abstract presentation at the United European Gastroenterology (UEG) Week in 2022. • Dr Jason Cheung Pui-yin (Orthopaedics and Traumatology, SClinMed) received the Best Paper Award at the APSS Annual Meeting for the paper ‘The Role of The Proximal Humerus Ossification System (Phos) in Guiding Brace Weaning in Adolescent Idiopathic Scoliosis’ by the Asia Pacific Spine Society (APSS) in July 2022. • Dr Edmond Choi Pui-hang (Nursing) was inducted into the 2022 Class of Fellows of the American Academy of Nursing at the Academy’s annual Health Policy Conference. • Dr Kenny Kwan Yat-hong (Orthopaedics and Traumatology, SClinMed) was bestowed the Asia Pacific Spine Society - Asian Spine Journal (APSS-ASJ) Best Clinical Research Awarded at the APSS Annual Meeting for the paper ‘Long term quality of life outcomes for thoracic AIS patients with or without fusion: a minimum of 15-year follow-up study’ by the APSS in August 2022. • Dr David Lam Chi-leung (Medicine, SClinMed) was elected as President and received the APSR Woolcock Research Award from the Asian Pacific Society of Respirology in 2021. • Dr Paul Lee Chi-ho (Medicine, SClinMed) received the AASD Investigator Award 2021 from The Asian Association for the Study of Diabetes. • Dr David Lui Tak-wai (Medicine, SClinMed) was presented the ICDM Rising Star Award at the 11th International Congress of Diabetes and Metabolism and the 13th AASD Scientific Meeting in 2021. • Professor Irene Ng Oi-lin (Pathology, SClinMed) was named one of the Best Female Scientists in the World in the first edition of the ranking by in 2022. • Professor Sydney Tang Chi-wai (Medicine, SClinMed) was elected President of The Asian Pacific Society of Nephrology in 2022. • Dr Kelvin Wang Man-ping (Nursing) was named one of the Edge Runners 2022 by the American Academy of Nursing for his ‘Community-Based Smoking Cessation Program’. • Mr Samson Wong Ki-sum (Medical Ethics and Humanities Unit, SClinMed) received the Young Scholar Merit Award at the Asia Pacific Medical Education Conference (APMEC) 2022. 20