State of the Faculty Address 2021

22 National ● Dr Gao Bo (Biomedical Sciences ) , in collaboration with the Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences, Peking Union Medical College and Fudan University, was awarded the Youth Award of the 2020 China Medical Science and Technology Awards by the Chinese Medical Association for the project “Genetic and mechanistic studies of congenital skeletal disorders” in March 2021. ● Professor Paul Tam Kwong-hang and Dr Clara Tang Sze-man (Surgery ) , in collaboration with Wuhan Union Hospital of Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Capital Institute of Pediatrics, and the Second Hospital of Hebei Medical University, were conferred the Second Class Award of the 2020 China Medical Science and Technology Awards for the project “Disease mechanisms and minimal invasive surgery applications for Hirschsprung’s disease” by the Chinese Medical Association in March 2021. ● Professor Xu Aimin (Medicine ) and Dr Hui Xiaoyan (Biomedical Sciences, CUHK) were presented the State Science and Technology Progress Award (Second Class Award) for the project “Innovation and application of key technology for diabetes immunodiagnosis and treatment” by the Ministry of Science and Technology of the People’s Republic of China in 2020. Local Extramural ● Professor Kenneth Wong Kak-yuen (Surgery ) and his team received the HKWC and QMH/TYH Outstanding Team Award (Paediatric Thoracoscopic Team) from the Hong Kong West Cluster, Hospital Authority in March 2021. Intramural ● Professor Keiji Fukuda (Public Health) and his team comprising Ms Bernadette Tsui Wing-suen (Development and Alumni Affairs Office) , Professor Chan Yuen-ying (Technology-Enriched Learning Initiative) and Mr Laurence Tang Yat-long (Development and Alumni Affairs Office) received the Faculty Knowledge Exchange Award in September 2020 for the project “Combating COVID-19 through knowledge exchange”. ● Dr John Fung Tai-chun and his team comprising Dr Veronica Lam Suk-fun, Ms Michelle Pang Tsz-ha and Dr Janet Wong Yuen-ha (Nursing) were presented the HKU 2020 Teaching Innovation Award for the project “Evaluation on students’ clinical competence after a virtual simulation education programme during COVID-19 pandemic” in March 2021.