Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS)
Curriculum Structure

Years 1 and 2: Biomedical Sciences Curriculum

The Biomedical Sciences Curriculum is the foundation of our MBBS. You will acquire health science knowledge and basic skills in self-directed learning, by studying actual patient cases. You will also have your first exposure to patients through community visits, where you will learn about their care in their social and economic contexts. 

The Biomedical Sciences Curriculum will include the following clusters: 

  • Introduction to Health Sciences
    to strengthen your foundation in basic and health sciences.
  • Professionalism and Clinical Skills
    to gain an overview of the processes of diseases and an introduction to the therapeutic strategies for modulating disease processes.
  • Precision Medicine
    to explore the exciting innovations in treating disease at the frontiers of genetics and genomics, artificial intelligence, robotics and others.
  • Medical Humanities, Ethics and Law
    to learn about the ethical and legal implications of modern medical care, medical humanities and professionalism.
  • Medicine and Society
    to learn about caring for the patient as an individual, and as a member of a family and a community.

Introduction to the Art and Science of Medicine (13 weeks)

Most people think of medicine as a science, when it should be more correctly understood as an art based on science, where care is delivered in an evidence-based and compassionate manner. This module under the Biomedical Sciences Curriculum will familiarize you with the methods and philosophy of modern medical practice. It will be one of the first things you study at HKUMed and is organized under the following modules:

  • Molecules of Medicine
  • Cells, Tissues & Systems
  • Infections and Host Defence
  • Drugs in Action

System-Based Blocks (47 weeks)

The complexity of human health is reflected in our system-based blocks, where you will acquire an understanding about the workings of the human body during the second semester of Year 1 and the entire Year 2. The six system-based blocks cover: Cardiopulmonary and Renal Systems; Gastrointestinal System; Musculoskeletal System; Head, Neck and Nervous System; Haematology and Immunology System; and Endocrine and Reproductive Systems.

Years 4-6: The Clinical Years

This is when you will enter the real-life world of clinical practice and get full exposure to how doctors work on a day-to-day basis. You will spend time in hospitals, working alongside doctors and nurses as they treat patients while equipping you with the necessary hands-on skills and an in-depth understanding of clinical medicine before you join ranks as a future health professional.

The clinical years have three components: the Clinical Foundation Block, the Clinical Clerkships, and at the end, an Elective.

Clinical Foundation Block 

The 10-week Clinical Foundation Block happens at the beginning of your 4th year. It serves two purposes. One is to enable you to review, integrate and consolidate the knowledge you acquired during the system-based blocks; the other is to prepare you for the clinical clerkships. During this block, you will study clinical cases that reflect some of the most significant health care problems in Hong Kong. You will also be developing clinical and interpersonal skills that are essential for a rewarding learning experience in the subsequent MBBS years.

Clinical Clerkships

This is the largest and also the most exciting chunk of learning you will undertake, running mid-Year 4 to Year 6. During this time, you will be directly involved in the day-to-day patient care such as diagnosis, investigation and treatment, and have the opportunity to apply the knowledge and interpersonal skills when interacting with patients and their families.

The Clinical Clerkships span over three phases: Junior Clerkship (27 weeks), Senior Clerkship (24 weeks) and Specialty Clerkship (49 weeks). Your rotations will be in hospitals as well as clinics offering ambulatory care and community-based primary care. The clerkships will include the following rotations: Medicine, Surgery, Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Paediatrics and Adolescent Medicine, Orthopaedics and Traumatology, Microbiology, Pathology, Public Health, Family Medicine and Primary Care, Accident and Emergency Medicine, Anaesthesiology, Clinical Oncology, Diagnostic Radiology, Ophthalmology, Psychiatry, Geriatrics, Rehabilitation and Palliative Care – all established specialties unique and fascinating in their own right!

MBBS Elective

After the Final Examination in Year 6, you will have a four-week block when you can explore an area of medicine that interests you either through clinical attachment or laboratory/clinical research.